Friday, January 11, 2008

So what is a "Distinguished Party Leader?"

WE'VE MOVED! Democratic Convention Watch is now at

As we unravel the mystery of who is a superdelegate for the 2008 Democratic Convention, there is a special category of superdelegates called "Distinguished Party Leaders". What is a Distinguished Party Leader, or, as we like to call them here, DPLs?

All former Democratic Presidents, all former Democratic Vice Presidents, all former Democratic Leaders of the U.S. Senate, all former Democratic Speakers of the U.S. House of Representatives and Democratic Minority Leaders, as applicable, and all former Chairs of the Democratic National Committee. - DNCC
And who are the DPLs? Here's a list, along with the delegation they are a part of, and any endorsement they may have made:

President Jimmy Carter - GA
President Bill Clinton - NY - Clinton
Vice President Walter Mondale - MN - Clinton
Vice President Al Gore - TN
Speaker Jim Wright - TX - Clinton
Speaker Tom Foley - WA - Clinton
House Minority Leader Richard Gephardt - MO - Clinton
Sen. Majority Leader Robert Byrd - WV - Obama
Sen. Majority Leader George Mitchell - ME
Sen. Majority Leader Tom Daschle - SD - Obama
DNC Chairman Fred Harris - NM - Obama
DNC Chairman Robert Strauss - TX
DNC Chairman Ken Curtis - FL - Clinton
DNC Chairman Charles Manatt - CA - Clinton
DNC Chairman Paul Kirk - MA - Obama
DNC Chairman David Wilhelm - OH - Obama
DNC Chairwoman Debra DeLee - MA - Clinton
DNC Chairman Chris Dodd - CT - Obama
DNC Chairman Steven Grossman - MA - Clinton
DNC Chairman Joseph Andrew - IN - Obama
DNC Chairman Roy Romer - CO - Obama
DNC Chairman Ed Rendell - PA - Clinton
DNC Chairman Terry McAuliffe - VA - Clinton

Some of these people also qualify as a superdelegate in other ways. Dodd and Byrd are Senators, and Rendell is a Governor. But don't worry, they only get one vote. The DNC classifies them as DPWs, so, for example, the Pennsylvania delegation lists 1 DPW, but 0 Governors. But other sources, such as the GreenPapers, classify them under their current office, which is what we do also. Also, former DNC Chairman Don Fowler is a current member of the DNC, so he is listed as a DNC member, not as a DPW.


Woody said...

DPL List shows Roy Romer (CO) as uncommitted, but he endorsed Obama yesterday. Amazing site guys, great work.

Peter Zenger said...

This post still has Joe Andrew listed as Clinton. The main page reflects him as an Obama supporter.

Woody said...

I guess i only noticed Romer because i'm a Colorado boy. Additional DPL inconsistencies (as per your main endorsement page):

Jim Wright (TX): Clinton
Fred Harris (NM): Obama
Paul Kirk (MA): Obama
David Wilhelm (IA or IL?): Obama
Debra DeLee (MA): Clinton
Chris Dodd (CT): Obama
Ed Rendell (PA): Clinton

Matt said...

Endorsements and states have been updated. Thanks.