Thursday, May 29, 2008

We're going to Denver

WE'VE MOVED! Democratic Convention Watch is now at http://www.DemocraticConventionWatch.com

2008 Democratic Convention Watch is very proud to announce we have been approved to receive credentials to cover the 2008 Democratic National Convention in Denver. But we're not alone:

As part of its continuing commitment to engage a broad spectrum of audiences in new and creative ways, the Democratic National Convention Committee (DNCC) today announced that a record number of blogs have been credentialed as members of the media for the 2008 Democratic National Convention at the Pepsi Center in Denver, Colo. These blogs will help ensure that communities across the country are connected to the Convention through the eyes and ears of a growing, diverse group of online voices.

Organizers also announced that blogs credentialed by the DNCC will have access to a dedicated "Blogger Lounge" inside the Pepsi Center, equipped with televisions, technology resources and workspace to facilitate their reporting. All bloggers will have access to the Convention floor, press briefing areas, caucus meetings, filing centers and other auxiliary events open to members of the media.
...
In 2004, the DNCC credentialed about 30 blogs to cover the Convention in Boston - the first Convention to credential bloggers. Recently, the DNCC announced that 55 blogs focused on state and local politics were selected to be members of the DemConvention State Blogger Corps. Altogether, the DNCC will credential more than 120 blogs for the Convention and many more individuals will blog the Convention via credentials issued through the U.S. Congressional Press Galleries. - DNCC

Here's the full list of blogs approved today. Want to know the secret to being first on the list? Have you blog name start with a low number.....

2008 Democratic Convention Watch http://demconwatch.blogspot.com
43rdStateBlues.com http://43rdstateblues.com
AFL-CIO NOW Blog http://blog.aflcio.org
African American Political Pundit http://aapoliticalpundit.blogspot.com
AMERICAblog.com http://americablog.com
Asian American Action Fund Blog http://aaa-fund.com
Badlands Blue http://badlandsblue.com
Bagnews Notes http://bagnewsnotes.com
Beliefnet http://beliefnet.com
Bitch Ph.D. http://bitchphd.blogspot.com
Blogger News Network http://bloggernews.net
Blogging For Michigan http://bloggingformichigan.com
BlogHer http://blogher.com
Blue Hampshire http://bluehampshire.com
Blue Indiana http://blueindiana.net
Blue Jersey http://bluejersey.com
Blue Mass. Group http://bluemassgroup.com
BlueGrassRoots http://bluegrassroots.org
BlueNC.com http://bluenc.com
BlueOregon http://blueoregon.com
Buckeye State Blog http://buckeyestateblog.com
Burnt Orange Report http://BurntOrangeReport.com
Calitics http://Calitics.com
Campus Progress http://campusprogress.org
Celtic Diva's Blue Oasis http://divasblueoasis.blogspot.com
Change to Win http://changetowin.org
Colorado Confidential http://coloradoconfidential.com
Cotton Mouth Blog http://cottonmouthblog.blogspot.com
CracktheBell.com http://crackthebell.com
Crooks and Liars http://crooksandliars.com
culturekitchen http://culturekitchen.com
Daily Kingfish http://dailykingfish.com
Daily Kos http://dailykos.com
Dallas South Blog http://dallassouthblog.com
DCist.com http://dcist.com
Democracy Arsenal http://democracyarsenal.org
Democracy for New Mexico http://DemocracyForNewMexico.com
Democratic Party of the U.S. Virgin Islands http://groups.yahoo.com/group/democratvi
Democratic Underground http://democraticunderground.com
Democrats Abroad Argentina http://yanquimike.com.ar
DemoOkie http://DemoOkie.com
Digby's Hullabaloo http://digbysblog.blogspot.com
Disaboom.com http://disaboom.com
Doc's Political Parlor http://politicalparlor.net
DoubleSpeak http://doublespeakshow.com
Eschaton http://atrios.blogspot.com
EverydayCitizen.com http://everydaycitizen.com
Fired Up! http://firedupmissouri.com
Firedoglake http://firedoglake.com
Florida Progressive Coalition http://flaprogressives.org
Future Majority http://futuremajority.com
Georgia Politics Unfiltered http://georgiaunfiltered.blogspot.com
Green Mountain Daily http://greenmountaindaily.com
Grist Magazine http://grist.org/
Group News Blog http://groupnewsblog.net
HispanicTips.com http://hispanictips.com
HorsesAss.org http://horsesass.org
HummingbirdMinds Blog http://hummingbirdminds.blogspot.com
iLind.net http://ilind.net
Indianz.com http://indianz.com
Jack and Jill Politicshttp://jackandjillpolitics.com
Jusiper http://jusiper.blogspot.com
Keystone Politics http://keystonepolitics.com
KnoxViews http://knoxviews.com
Las Vegas Gleaner http://lasvegasgleaner.com
Left In Alabama http://leftinalabama.com
Left in the West http://leftinthewest.com
Michigan Liberal http://michiganliberal.com
Minnesota Monitor http://minnesotamonitor.com
MOMocrats http://momocrats.typepad.com
My Left Nutmeg http://myleftnutmeg.com
MyDD http://mydd.com
New Nebraska Network http://NewNebraska.net
NewsOne.com http://newsone.com
No Rest for the Awake http://minagahet.blogspot.com
NorthDecoder.com http://northdecoder.com
Obsidian Wings http://obsidianwings.blogs.com
Ohio Daily Blog http://ohiodailyblog.com
OliverWillis.com http://oliverwillis.com
Open Lefthttp://openleft.com
Pam's House Blend http://pamshouseblend.com
Political Base http://politicalbase.com
Political Wire http://politicalwire.com
PoliticalLunch.com http://PoliticalLunch.com
PolitickerNJ.com http://politickernj.com
PoliticsOnline http://politicsonline.com
Pop and Politics http://popandpolitics.com
Prairie State Blue http://PrairieStateBlue.com
RaceWire http://racewire.org
Raising Kaine http://raisingkaine.com
Raw Story http://rawstory.com
Rhode Island's Future http://rifuture.org
Room 8 http://r8ny.com
Rum, Romanism and Rebellion http://rumromanismrebellion.net
RuralVotes http://ruralvotes.com/thefield
Scholars & Rogues http://scholarsandrogues.com
Seeing the Forest http://seeingtheforest.com
Sepia Mutiny http://sepiamutiny.com
SquareState.net http://squarestate.net
Talking Points Memo http://talkingpointsmemo.com
TalkLeft http://talkleft.com
Taylor Marsh http://taylormarsh.com
The Albany Project http://thealbanyproject.com
The Center for Emerging Media http://centerforemergingmedia.com
The Iowa Independent http://iowaindependent.com
The Natchez Blog http://natchezms.blogspot.com
The Seminal http://theseminal.com
The UpTake http://theuptake.org
The Utah Amicus http://utahamicus.com
The Washington Independent http://washingtonindependent.com
Think Youth http://thinkyouth.org
Thought Theater http://thoughttheater.com
TommyWonk http://tommywonk.blogspot.com/
Tondee's Tavern http://tondeestavern.com
Towleroad http://towleroad.com
Turn Maine Blue http://turnmaineblue.com
Under The Dome.com http://underthedome.com
Uppity Wisconsin http://uppitywis.org
USAmerica Vota '08 http://usamericavota08.blogspot.com
VivirLatino.com http://vivirlatino.com
West Virginia Blue http://wvablue.com
What About Our Daughters? Blog http://whataboutourdaughters.com
Working Life http://workinglife.org
Zennie's Zeitgeist http://zennie2005.blogspot.com

Congratulations to all the blogs on the list.

25 comments:

3investors said...

congratulations, you've definitely earned it!

OurHispanicVoices said...

Congrats. I agree, you have earned it. I've been a frequent viewer and just realized I don't have you on my blogroll.

rkw said...

Congrats to you guys. You deserve it.

mumblin said...

awesome...... I mean yeah congrats

DocJess said...

RAH!!!! to the best of the best....I WANT PICTURES!

Paul Bradford said...

What fabulous news! I'm really looking forward to the convention. It will be great to have 'eyes and ears' on the floor!

(By the way, do either of you have jobs?)

edgeways said...

Yay.. good job and kudos

Jack said...

Congratulations, you deserve it for all the great work you do!

Hope said...

So COOL!

I will look for you there and say, "HI!" (I'm a delegate.)

:-)

lompe said...

Well deserved! You have done a great job. Congrats!

Matt said...

Hope - Please email us at the email address in the sidebar. Thanks. - Matt

kennick said...

Congratulations Matt and Oreo.
Looking forward to your reporting from Denver.

Leah Texas4Obama said...

WOW what great news!

Congrats Oreo, Matt, and everyone at DCW ;)

.

JGreenleaf said...

DCW,

Congratulations!

Since you're official, I think you should get busy working on lining up sponsors for the Blogger Bash. Nancy Pelosi was one of the sponsors for the blogger party in Boston in '04. I was, sadly, too worn out to go but managed to get one of the prescient 32MB thumb drives, inscribed SpeakerPelosi.com, that were in the goodie bag.

There was also a special blogger breakfast featuring a couple of interesting speakers: former presidential candidate Howard Dean and some guy named Barack Obama who was running for the senate from Illinois.

The Big Media all showed up to cover this weird new phenomenon called blogging. Every time someone opened up a laptop, people toting giant cameras and huge boom mikes would rush over to get some footage of some poor soul typing. Pictures.

I can't wait to see what we're going to do this year, and I'm looking forward to meeting the Blogger Corps in real space.

It will also be interesting to see how the coverage changes. There wasn't a lot of hard reporting by bloggers, and a lot of the coverage (including my own) was fairly breathless and star struck.

-Jenny

Mark said...

Congrats!!

Will look forward to reading your live blogging during the whole circus. :)

softspoken22 said...

Congratulations! You gaves are the best!

jfagan said...

I am a long time viewer but first time poster to you site. Thanks for all your work. I'm glad we will have the inside scoop

MKSinSA said...

You guys and gal SOOO Rock! Congrats. Wouldn't trust anyone else with the goods.

Independent voter said...

YAY! Congrats you guys!

I had asked where you (the best of the best) were on your previous list, Matt said you had applied, and viola here you guys are going! Great Job!!!!!

Thomas said...

Congratulations - you have worked so hard to keep us all informed!

The title of this blog entry scared me though - I thought you got information about the NOMINATION going to the convention! HA.

Andre said...

From one credentialed blogger to another, congrats!

Hopefully we can finally put some faces to the name.

Andre
http://georgiaunfiltered.blogspot.com

nanc said...

Congratulations! This is the most informative site on the web, and your hard work has paid off. I hope it's a very large bloggers lounge.

Your headline scared me, too! :)

Les said...

See this Post article on the primary date maneuvering. New Hampshire moved up its date in response to South Carolina moving up its date, which was prompted by Florida's actions.

New Hampshire had blustered prior to Florida's actions, but had not actually made any moves until that chain of events...

Les said...

Whoops! Wrong topic...

Congratulations to everyone on the list, and certainly to DemConWatch - you've really made an impact this year!

Lost Bob said...

Congratulations !

And thanks for a terrific site. Been following the numbers here for awhile; the comment and commentary only recently. I am very impressed with the level of discussion here. A refreshing change from just about everywhere else. I am looking forward to following you guys through the convention.