Tuesday, August 05, 2008

Debates Schedule and Moderators Announced

WE'VE MOVED! Democratic Convention Watch is now at http://www.DemocraticConventionWatch.com

The Commission on Presidential Debates has just announced the schedule

First presidential debate:
Friday, September 26
University of Mississippi, Oxford, MS

Vice presidential debate:
Thursday, October 2
Washington University in St. Louis, MO

Second presidential debate:
Tuesday, October 7
Belmont University, Nashville, TN

Third presidential debate:
Wednesday, October 15
Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY

The two backup sites are Centre College in Danville, KY and Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, NC.

The Commission also announced formats for the debates.

All debates will be ninety minutes in length and start at 9:00 p.m. ET.

Each debate will be administered by a single moderator.

The first presidential debate will focus on domestic policy; the third presidential debate will focus on foreign policy.

The second presidential (town meeting format) debate will include any issues raised by members of that audience, and the vice presidential debate will include domestic and foreign policy.

In each debate except the town meeting format, the candidates will be seated at a table with the moderator.

More from the CPD here

Moderators according to First Read

Sept. 26: Jim Lehrer

Oct 2: Vice presidential debate Gwen Ifill

Oct. 7: Tom Brokaw

Oct. 15: Bob Schieffer