Thursday, June 26, 2008

Convention Captains Program Announced to Get Colorado Residents Involved

WE'VE MOVED! Democratic Convention Watch is now at

"Colorado is proud to host to the Convention, which will shine a spotlight on all the things that make our state so great. I am pleased that the DNCC has made a long-term, sustained effort to involve the entire Rocky Mountain region in this historic event," Gov. Ritter said. "The Convention Captains program will provide an opportunity for every county in the state to be a part of this historic event."

Convention Captains will organize and host watch parties where families, friends and neighbors can come together in counties throughout Colorado as Barack Obama accepts the Democratic nomination for President of the United States on Thursday, August 28. Each Convention Captain will be issued a "playbook" arming them to serve as a local ambassador for the four-day event and providing them with helpful tips for planning and hosting a successful watch party and other events to engage their community in the Convention.

"There is no question that the great state of Colorado will play a crucial role in the general election come November," said Convention Co-Chair Governor Sebelius. "The 'Convention Captains' program will highlight our efforts to engage new communities in this region and really provide a platform to showcase what our Party has to offer. After all, the goal of this program is to reach beyond the Convention hall, just as Barack Obama has done throughout the primary season by bringing new people in to the political process." DNCC Press Release

The first set of Convention Captains was announced today. All of Colorado's counties will be represented by a Convention Captain.

Announced Convention Captains
Adams County

Nicole Hanlen

Jim Joy

Arapahoe County
Patrick Anderson

Jennifer Herrera

Boulder County
Deb Gardner

Clear Creek County
Sandy Russalesi

Denver County
Jennifer Jacobson

Eagle County

Fred Schmidt

Nancy Schmidt

Elbert County
Teri Baird

Jefferson County
Tom Satriano

Larimer County
Charlotte Miller

Erma Muehlbach

Mesa County
Audrey Berry

Weld County
Joe Perez